The Lincoln Depot was purchased in 1990 from the Grelsens. At the time of purchase, it was called The Dew Drop Inn. It was a 3.2 only bar with a small two bedroom apartment attached. We derived the name “Lincoln Depot”, because we’re located on Lincoln Avenue and the proximity to the railroad tracks. We began remodeling immediately. The building was very old, with lathe and plaster and newspaper insulation dating back to the 1920’s. The more we dug into the demolition the more work we created. The end result- we gutted the building to the bare walls, completely rewired, re-plumbed re-roofed (from flat to a pitched), installed new windows and doors, tore down interior walls and rebuilt all the flooring. While shingling the roof, the last person to holler “Train!” when a train came, would have to go down the ladder to get the next bundle of shingles.
Over the years we have heard many stories regarding the location. One in particular is about a man named Frank Gould. He began as a grocery stand, then added on to become a pub, groceries, and gambling hall. He was a very nice and well-respected man in the area. Recently, in the summer of 2007, we had a visit from Frank Gould’s children, who are now in their 80’s. They were here for a family reunion. They shared many stories with us. They were fascinated by how their old home looks today and were thrilled with the tour we gave them. They also enjoyed the food, as we hope you do. The Lincoln Depot is a family-owned and operated business that makes us somewhat unique. We welcome all walks of life with our hometown atmosphere and friendly staff.